Jump to content


Photo

Tune-o-tron Upgraded


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#19 Don

Don

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 January 2008 - 08:33 PM

Next on deck is an upgrade of the midi conversion engine, as suggested by Colin Hume. I'm working on it...

Thanks,

Paul


Paul,

I am a new contributor to the Tune-o-tron and was stumped in trying to create a file that used a different Midi instrument than piano. Is there a %%MIDI command that will work on the Tune-o-tron?

Don

#20 Robin Harrison

Robin Harrison

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris,Ontario,Canada.

Posted 09 February 2008 - 09:34 AM

My question..............this tune,Pastorale, from the Tune-o-tron plays at twice the expected speed.
http://www.concertin...ml?rec_id=1104.
Is there anything I can do from my PC to slow it down to normal ?
Thanks Robin

#21 Pete Dunk

Pete Dunk

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1844 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, UK

Posted 09 February 2008 - 11:05 AM

Is there anything I can do from my PC to slow it down to normal ?

Yep, copy and paste the ABC source file back into the Tune-O-Tron and alter the value of the "Q:" field, it's currently set at 1/4=140 so try 100 and then 70 if it's really playing at double the normal tempo. Oddly the Tune-O-Tron seems to read the Q field differently to other abc applications (or maybe it was the old Tune-O-Tron that did that and old abc files need re-timing since the update).

#22 Pete Dunk

Pete Dunk

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1844 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, UK

Posted 09 February 2008 - 11:16 AM

Is there a %%MIDI command that will work on the Tune-o-tron?

If there is I've not been able to find it. Try downloading ABC Navigator (free), that will use midi commands via the software but remember that if you add a midi command in a file submitted to the Tune-O-Tron database it will just be ignored. You could always add a comment that the file is best listened to using other abc software or manually setting the midi patch to X voice. Because Tune-O-Tron doesn't send midi commands it won't reset the manually selected voice.

Pete

#23 Robin Harrison

Robin Harrison

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris,Ontario,Canada.

Posted 09 February 2008 - 11:46 AM

.....worked like a charm.............many thanks
Robin

#24 Robin Harrison

Robin Harrison

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris,Ontario,Canada.

Posted 09 February 2008 - 11:55 AM

.......................another thought if I may impose.
I tried transposing it to G by altering the key,it sounds different ( bad) but I'm not sure it's done it.Is it possible to do that ?
Thanks again Robin

#25 Pete Dunk

Pete Dunk

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1844 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, UK

Posted 09 February 2008 - 02:29 PM

Errrrm. <_<

Not sure to be honest, the Tune-O-Tron doesn't transpose as far as I'm aware but you might try downloading ABC Navigator, that might transpose it. There's also an online abc converter on folkinfo.org and I seem to remember that transposes. Give it a whirl. :unsure:

#26 Pete Dunk

Pete Dunk

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1844 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, UK

Posted 09 February 2008 - 02:48 PM

Ok, I've just double checked that. The folkinfo site does transpose but only outputs to midi, not pdf. So do the transposition and view the transposed abc after listening to the midi to make sure it's what you want. Copy and paste the abc into a text editor then take it over to the Tune-O-Tron to get the dots. :D

#27 Robin Harrison

Robin Harrison

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris,Ontario,Canada.

Posted 09 February 2008 - 03:01 PM

Tallship...............excellent,excellent,excellent.
Ours messages have crossed.................I've just done that and it also transposes the chords with it.
I've just printed off a lovely piece from the Tune-o-Tron called Pastorale,by Charles Buterne and it appears to sit nicely for the G/G anglo..............I'm going to give it a whirl.
You've been very helpful.........thanks again
Robin

#28 Pete Dunk

Pete Dunk

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1844 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, UK

Posted 09 February 2008 - 05:18 PM

I'm pleased it worked out Robin, abc and the online tools are a great resourse and all for free. I remember painstakingly writing out tunes in manuscript books as a kid, looked awful and took ages. Now if you know the rudiments of musical theory and can manage to grasp the basics of a fairly logical 'language' you can churn out professional looking sheet music quite quickly. Bargain!

Pete. :)

#29 Bob Norris

Bob Norris

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia USA

Posted 22 March 2008 - 05:34 PM

Wow!

Id really love to convert some of my pipe tunes, can this be done?

X:1
T:Untitled 2
M:4/4
L:1/8
R:Slow air
C:R. Mathieson
Q:66
K:HP
%Highland Bagpipe
V:1
|:A|{g} d/2e/2{g} f/2a/2 {e} f4 {g} ec|{g} d/2e/2{g} f/2d/2 {G} A4 {g} dA|{GdG} B2- Bd {gf} g2 {a} g/2a/2f/2g/2|{ef} e4- e3 A|
%Highland Bagpipe
V:2
|:A|{g} B/2c/2{g} d/2f/2 {g} B4 {g} cA|{g} B/2c/2{g} d/2B/2 {G} A {g} B/2c/2{g} d/2B/2 {G} A {g} dA|{g} G2- GB {g} e2 {g} e/2f/2d/2e/2|{gcd} c2 {g} e/2f/2d/2e/2 {gcd} c3 A|
%Highland Bagpipe
V:1
|{g} d/2e/2{g} f/2a/2 {e} f4 {g} ec|{g} d/2e/2{g} f/2d/2 {G} A4 {g} dA|{d} Bd {gf} gB {G} Ad {g} c/2d/2{g} e/2c/2|{Gdc} d2 {g} d/2e/2{g} f/2e/2 d3:|
%Highland Bagpipe
V:2
|{g} B/2c/2{g} d/2f/2 {g} B4 {g} cA|{g} B/2c/2{g} d/2B/2 {G} A {g} B/2c/2{g} d/2B/2 {G} A {g} dA|{g} GB {g} eB {G} AB {g} A/2B/2{g} c/2A/2|{gBd} B2 {g} B/2c/2{g} d/2c/2 {gBd} B3:|
%Highland Bagpipe
V:1
|:e|{g} c/2B/2c/2d/2 {gef} e2- eA {gcd} cA|{g} d/2c/2d/2e/2 {g} f2- f{e} A {g} d{e} A|{GdG} B2- Bd {gf} g2 {a} g/2a/2f/2g/2|{ef} e4- e3 A|
%Highland Bagpipe
V:2
|:e|{g} A/2G/2A/2B/2 {gcd} c2- cA {gAd} A-A|{gBd} B/2A/2B/2c/2 {g} d2- dA {g} BA|{gGd} G2- GB {g} e2 {g} e/2f/2d/2e/2|{gcd} c2 {g} e/2f/2d/2e/2 {gcd} c3 A|
%Highland Bagpipe
V:1
|{g} d/2e/2{g} f/2a/2 {e} f4 {g} ec|{g} d/2e/2{g} f/2d/2 {G} A4 {g} dA|{d} Bd {gf} gB {G} Ad {g} c/2d/2{g} e/2c/2|{Gdc} d2 {g} d/2e/2{g} f/2e/2 d3:|
%Highland Bagpipe
V:2
|{g} B/2c/2{g} d/2f/2 {g} B4 {g} cA|{g} B/2c/2{g} d/2B/2 {G} A {g} B/2c/2{g} d/2B/2 {G} A {g} dA|{g} GB {g} eB {G} AB {g} A/2B/2{g} c/2A/2|{gBd} B2 {g} B/2c/2{g} d/2c/2 {gBd} B3:|

#30 JimLucas

JimLucas

    Ineluctable Opinionmaker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 22 March 2008 - 06:00 PM

I've just printed off a lovely piece from the Tune-o-Tron called Pastorale,by Charles Buterne and it appears to sit nicely for the G/G anglo..............

Is that one of those double-reeded models? :lol:



#31 Laitch

Laitch

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vermont, USA

Posted 22 March 2008 - 06:15 PM

Id really love to convert some of my pipe tunes, can this be done?

For one answer, try copying them to the Convert-a-matic, submitting them then outputting their PDFs.

#32 Pete Dunk

Pete Dunk

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1844 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, UK

Posted 23 March 2008 - 07:11 PM

Wow!

Id really love to convert some of my pipe tunes, can this be done?

I'm starting to lose the plot here. If you can write an abc file to this standard that works perfectly well in the Convert-A-Matic why do you need to ask the question?

#33 Bob Norris

Bob Norris

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia USA

Posted 23 March 2008 - 07:26 PM

Wow!

Id really love to convert some of my pipe tunes, can this be done?

I'm starting to lose the plot here. If you can write an abc file to this standard that works perfectly well in the Convert-A-Matic why do you need to ask the question?


Im asking that if I convert o matic my ABC pipe tunes will they be in the correct format for the concertina?
:rolleyes:

#34 Pete Dunk

Pete Dunk

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1844 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, UK

Posted 23 March 2008 - 07:33 PM

Im asking that if I convert o matic my ABC pipe tunes will they be in the correct format for the concertina?
:rolleyes:

I play English concertina, fully chromatic in any key. Bring it on big boy! ;) :P

(Edited to add) I should add that beyond three sharps and four flats I start to get a bit lost but hey, I'm only human! :D

Edited by tallship, 23 March 2008 - 07:42 PM.


#35 Bob Norris

Bob Norris

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Virginia USA

Posted 23 March 2008 - 07:40 PM

Im asking that if I convert o matic my ABC pipe tunes will they be in the correct format for the concertina?
:rolleyes:

I play English concertina, fully chromatic in any key. Bring it on big boy! ;) :P


Yup,,

Thats me the big boy ;)

Posted Image

Edited by Bob Norris, 23 March 2008 - 07:42 PM.


#36 buikligger

buikligger

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Location:Belsele, Belgium

Posted 24 March 2008 - 08:43 AM

Is there anything I can do from my PC to slow it down to normal ?

Yep, copy and paste the ABC source file back into the Tune-O-Tron and alter the value of the "Q:" field, it's currently set at 1/4=140 so try 100 and then 70 if it's really playing at double the normal tempo. Oddly the Tune-O-Tron seems to read the Q field differently to other abc applications (or maybe it was the old Tune-O-Tron that did that and old abc files need re-timing since the update).



Hi all,

I use a combination of Tune-o-tron and thesession.org to learn my new tunes . I copy and paste the Session version into the Tune-o-tron. With the Q field i can produce the speed i need.

Is there a way to save the slightly modified ABC (no ~ e.g., latest speed ) for next time i want to rehearse?

thanks beforehand

dirk




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users