Learning Tunes

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the concertina (a few months, 30 key G/C Anglo) and to the forum. I wonder if anyone would be interested in the following proposal. Someone would suggest a tune to be worked out communally. Ideally, it could be posted in written form, or is in the Tune-o-Tron, and would also be available in some aural form, midi or whatever, also on line.

What I have in mind is that suggestions and arguments would be offered as to key choice and bellows directions (which would unfortunately be rather Anglo-specific) and suggestions for ornamentation. I think this would be great for us newbies.

I might suggest, as a start, the tune Toss the Feathers, which is in the Tune-o-Tron and has a lovely version available at Mary MacNamara's website (or was, I seem to be denied access today.) I have also downloaded a midi, alternatively, credited to Harold Doolan, that I could post, and convert to printed form for those interested.

I have posted this topic in General Discussion to gauge if there is interest. It should obviously be moved to Teaching and Learning if people want to pursue it. Has anything like this been attempted in this Forum before?

Steve Mills

Ideally, it could be posted in written form, or is in the Tune-o-Tron, and would also be available in some aural form, midi or whatever, also on line.

Any tune in the Tune-o-Tron can be heard as a MIDI representation of the notation just by hitting the MIDI link. Sounds mechanical, but clear and unambiguous (unlike many recordings).

Has anything like this been attempted in this Forum before?
Not that I'm aware of.

The question naturally arises: What do we do after we have learned the tune? Talk about it? Record ourselves and send the recordings to some central repository for posting on the web so we can all hear each other?