Jump to content


Photo

Wheatstone Aeola 48 English Ebay scam?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 PwH

PwH

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warks

Posted 19 May 2012 - 04:33 AM

An Aeola for £9.99? Is it a scam? http://www.ebay.co.u...=item33764c0320 I mailed him for details ----

#2 PwH

PwH

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warks

Posted 19 May 2012 - 04:38 AM

Sorry for the double posting- too impatient with my button clicking!

#3 David Levine

David Levine

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 930 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Co Clare, Ireland

Posted 19 May 2012 - 04:58 AM

It's basically an ad rather than an open auction: Please contact me before bidding or buying at [....]hotmail.com for buy it now price and details!

It's probably not a scam. While it isn't an Aeola, a good Wheatstone English concertina should fetch at least two or even three times the opening bid of £9.99!

#4 Theo

Theo

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1330 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gateshead, England. Land of the Angel of the North!

Posted 19 May 2012 - 05:21 AM

It's basically an ad rather than an open auction: Please contact me before bidding or buying at [....]hotmail.com for buy it now price and details!

But it is a classic scammer strategy.


It's probably not a scam.


Which is exactly what a scammer wants you to think.

#5 PwH

PwH

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warks

Posted 19 May 2012 - 06:12 AM

Auction ended early--

. While it isn't an Aeola,


In my ignorance I thought eight sided Wheatstones were all Aeolas- is this not the case?

Peter H

#6 Chris Drinkwater

Chris Drinkwater

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1467 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 19 May 2012 - 09:35 AM

Auction ended early--


. While it isn't an Aeola,


In my ignorance I thought eight sided Wheatstones were all Aeolas- is this not the case?

Peter H


It looks like an Aeola to me - eight sides!

Chris

#7 david robertson

david robertson

    Chatty concertinist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, England

Posted 19 May 2012 - 10:22 AM

It's basically an ad rather than an open auction: Please contact me before bidding or buying at [....]hotmail.com for buy it now price and details!

It's probably not a scam. While it isn't an Aeola, a good Wheatstone English concertina should fetch at least two or even three times the opening bid of £9.99!

If this isn't a scam, I'll eat my Jeffries.

#8 Daniel Hersh

Daniel Hersh

    Heavyweight Boxer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1825 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Oakland, California

Posted 19 May 2012 - 11:12 AM

It's basically an ad rather than an open auction: Please contact me before bidding or buying at [....]hotmail.com for buy it now price and details!

It's probably not a scam. While it isn't an Aeola, a good Wheatstone English concertina should fetch at least two or even three times the opening bid of £9.99!

If this isn't a scam, I'll eat my Jeffries.

I'm sure it was a scam too. The listing is now gone:

"This listing was ended by the seller because the item is no longer available."



#9 PwH

PwH

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warks

Posted 19 May 2012 - 06:58 PM

Interestingly it was taken off sale not long after I sent this mail and got this reply . Note he offers to have it brought to me - Phishing for an address? I don't think I'll be following this up!


(QUOTE) Hi and thanks for the email.The concertina is like new. The buy it now price including shipping is £2,000 (delivered anywhere in UK). I will get somebody to bring it to you if you decide to buy it but we have to close the deal through eBay, inspection period prior buying it along with a refund policy will be included in the sale terms. Let me know if you want details on how to complete the sale.It's located in Aberdeen


From: peterwhennessey@hotmail.com
To: MichaelAtkins1966@hotmail.com
Subject: Concertina
Date: Sat, 19 May 2012 09:55:02 +0100


Hi Michael,

As requested I am contacting you regarding this concertina. Can you give me more details about the instrument please? What is your view on it's value? You must be aware that £9.99 is a ridiculously low starting price for this item, even if it needs some work doing on it, which the photo suggests it won't need much. How long have you had it , and what is it's history? Do you know how old it is?

Thanks, Peter H. (UNQUOTE)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users