Starting Out On Hayden Duet, Advice?

seanc

hi all,

I have been playing anglo for a few months but, recently picked up a stagi hayden that should be arriving any time now.

The question is; any advice on getting started on it? There does not seem to be the cornucopia of tutors, lesson books and resources that there are for anglo or even EC.

Can anyone point me in the right direction to get started?

Thanks in advance

sean

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Pretty much anything of interest is here: http://www.concertina.com/instruction/index.htm

Check out Brian Hayden's All Systems Duet Concertina Workshop Tutor and Cornell's Duet Concertina Arrangements (intended for Maccann (57+), but mostly OK for Hayden and Crane). Digby's "faking it" articles might be of interest.

That's about it. You are mostly on your own with Duet concertina. Find some music you want to play and find a way of playing it...

One of the first things is to get signed up for the Northeast Squeeze-In which is next month - only a couple hours drive for you! You'll find scores of concertina players including about 8 or so Hayden players who you'll be able to get lots of playing tips from. Perfect timing as by then you'll have a good handle on things yet not so entrenched into bad habits yet.

-- Rich --

thanks for the link. That seems to be more of more of a what is a hayden duet? why? and a button chart.. Which is definitely interesting and good for reference.

What I was thinking more of was something along the lines instruction on finger patterns. e.g on a C scale the root C should be played with the middle finger followed by the ...

and a major chord is best done with fingers...

I just took a quick look and did not see that. But, maybe I just need to dig around a bit more. I did see that on concertina.com the article by Hayden does have some suggestions on fingering charts for chords and that will be a good start.