Two-system Issues

Since I'm damned to hell anyway, I might as well take my Edgley and my Jack with me.

Oh wait, I'm going to Palestine, TX which is hilly and pretty and warm and green, not hell!

I feel much better!

Okay, seriously, here's my question.

As you all probably know by now, I'm battling the damned er, working on the old-timey tunes for the SW Squeeze-in at the end of March.

And as you all probably know, I am expecting delivery of my Jack English baritone either today or Tuesday.

Problem: I have been playing anglo for the last 2 1/2 years.

Problem: My anglo does not have all the accidentals I need to play one of the tunes. Magnolia's Waltz, to be specific. I'm missing the low G# below middle C.

Ergo, it *might* be easier to try to play the tune on the Jack, even if it will all be an octave lower than for everyone else.

I am a better musician than I was 2 1/2 years ago when I started playing concertina. I've gotten more adept at reading, at playing by ear, and I took a basic music theory class fall 2004. But I am, in all honesty, still very much a beginner.

On the other hand, this is a totally new instrument with a totally different fingering system that I have not even tried .

Is it total folly to try to get a piece of music, tune only, no chords or ornamentation, performance-ready on an instrument I currently do not know how to play -- in 5 weeks?

Part of me is standing up and screaming, "DUH! Yes!" and part of me is thinking, "Hmm, would be a good stretch for you musician-wise."

Which part should I heed?

Rhomylly

I am not in the postion to give you an answer to your question, but it's my own experience that I am glad to use my Jackie for the "upgrade program" of the Concertina Connection.

I own my Jackie since September 2003 and I seriously tried...... to come to the conclusion that this is not my instrument :( .

However there are other C.Netters who have no problem at all with changing between EC and Anglo.