The Music Of Cornish Hobos

This is a bit weird, but really charming.

There is a Youtube channel that purportedly tells the story of a musicologist in Cornwall, UK in the '30s:

"A musicologist shares field recordings from the campfires and hobo jungles of depression era Cornwall.

The purpose of this page is to share and discuss recordings I made in the late 1930s and early 1940s at a large hobo camp between Liskeard and Lostwithiel known as Two Waters Foot . Depression era Cornwall boasted a thriving musical scene particularly amongst those who took to the travelling life either through circumstances or through desire for adventure, and as a young student I took it upon myself to record as much as I could of this music before it was lost. While the musicianship is often not of the highest quality, I believe that these recordings are a fitting reminder of an overlooked and under represented cultural movement.
"

Erm...

Anyway, there are several videos in the collection, charming period photographs and concertina music in the background. It is a sort of Sid Kipper goes to Cornwall to collect hobo concertina playing:

I like them all, but this one is a good starter:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTOxaf2Qgrc

The complete channel is here:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl8KonZQHpoZZXrH1Wu5ICw

There is even a 200 page book about the Cornish Hobos:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/When-River-Still-Ran-Raincrow-ebook/dp/B00TLMK3X2/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1490112521&sr=1-1

Ok, so own up now, which one of you is Jack Chantegril? I have my suspicions...

I salute you! Well done.

All other considerations aside, the sentence

"I of course replied that under no circumstances could I be a party to such a tryst, and she set about my recording equipment with a burning log."

is one I very much wish I'd written.

Bob Michel

Near Philly