Period Pains!

Ptarmigan

Recently I bought a wonderful old Æola Baritone :wub: which weighs in at 2041g

Now it does have wrist straps but, foolishly I think, last week I lengthened them slightly, thinking they were too long!

However, it was clearly the wrong thing to do, because for two days after that, my thumbs ached & they were actually weakened so badly that I could not open neither jars nor juice or medicine bottles, in fact I could hardly hold my Fiddle Bow & almost dropped it while performing at the Burns Supper! :(

I have of course re-set the straps to the original lengths.

I guess Colin Dipper really does know more than me after all, when it comes to Concertina Straps! ;)

I'm hoping it was simply because I'd altered the straps.

I'd hate to think I wasn't fit to play this lovely Concertina!

Has anyone ever tried one of those long neck straps that some folks use to support the weight?

I had no serious problems, apart from slight Pinkie pain, when I started playing English Treble Concertina, back in September.

I haven't had any problems either, playing my Æola Tenor Treble & that doesn't even have wrist straps.

I wonder, has anyone else here ever experienced this sort of pain?

Is it time for me to give up .......... & take up the Harmonica instead? :wacko:

Cheers

Dick

Now it does have wrist straps but, foolishly I think, last week I lengthened them slightly, thinking they were too long!

However, it was clearly the wrong thing to do, because for two days after that, my thumbs ached & they were actually weakened so badly that I could not open neither jars nor juice or medicine bottles, in fact I could hardly hold my Fiddle Bow & almost dropped it while performing at the Burns Supper! :(

I have of course re-set the straps to the original lengths.

I guess Colin Dipper really does know more than me after all, when it comes to Concertina Straps! ;)

I'm hoping it was simply because I'd altered the straps.