Playing With Bellows Centered Over Knee...

I'm a new concertina player...i just received my brand spanking new Edgley concertina...maple ends stained black with metal buttons...very nice instrument..i've started playing with the bellows centered over my leg...i hear a lot of other people saying u should never do this...but really, how much is it going to affect the bellows...? maybe over 100 years or something it might ? anyone got any thoughts on this...

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Neils,

I've no experience of this as I tend to hold mine in the air while I play.

However, my attitude has always been that an instrument is there to be played.

and played how you want to play it. So I would say play it in whatever way suits you, and don't worry about the bellows. Bellows can always be repaired or replaced, and are not too expensive - even if you end up replacing them every 10 years or so.

Clive.

Neils, DO NOT rest the bellows on anything. They are there to provide air to the reeds. If, as I do , you play whilst seated, then rest one end of your instrument on a knee. If you intend to play whilst standing, fix a small bracket to each end of your instrument and use a sling around your neck if you find the instrument too heavy . Your thumbstraps (English) should NOT be tight around your thumbs but must allow you to slide them to facilitate reaching all parts of the keyboard.

Good Luck, JOHN NIXON.

i've started playing with the bellows centered over my leg...i hear a lot of other people saying u should never do this...but really, how much is it going to affect the bellows...? maybe over 100 years or something it might ? anyone got any thoughts on this...

A hundred years? Try five or ten, maybe less if you're energetic.

Denim isn't as efficient as sandpaper, but it will certainly get the job done if you keep rubbing with it. Any fabric will, sooner or later.

Bellows can always be repaired or replaced,...