Tuning Question

I recently purchased a 20 button, anglo concertina Musicians Friend from the Guitar Center.

All buttons are on tuned properly according to websites I've found EXCEPT the bottom row, left side,4th finger(little finger) According to sites, it should be A/ B and instead it is D/G (D being the note above middle c and the G being the first G below middle C) I play the piano so I compared.

Is this tuned properly? I don't know since I am a beginner.

I realize the concertina I purchased isn't a name brand,nor expensive, but I had to start someplace to learn and didn't want to spend a lot on my first concertina.later I will upgrade.

Please help me!

I appreciate any help and thanks in advance,

Hi,

Assuming your box is C/G:

My Lachenal has D and F# on that button, so maybe you have a slightly sharp F. According to my crib sheet, the 5th button may be either B/A or B/D according to the layout, but both the "standard" Jeffries and Wheatstone/Lachenal have the D/F# on the fourth button.

Also my melodeon has D/F# on the corresponding button.

So I reckon you're OK. I don't think I've ever used the 5th button, but the fourth one gets used a lot in English folky stuff.

PS Is that "Musicians's Gear"...?

Edited by malcolmbebb

I recently purchased a 20 button, anglo concertina Musicians Friend from the Guitar Center.

All buttons are on tuned properly according to websites I've found EXCEPT the bottom row, left side,4th finger(little finger) According to sites, it should be A/ B and instead it is D/G (D being the note above middle c and the G being the first G below middle C) I play the piano so I compared.

Is this tuned properly?