I Want To Buy A Concertina, But I Have Questions.

Alright, I'm a professional dabbler. Actually a professional student, but when it comes to music I try everything. I sing, and play five or six instruments so far, chiefly violin and mandolin. My favorite genre is early and traditional music, so I like the traditional instruments. I fell in love with a friend's concertina, and then got paid, and the influx of money combined with my newfound infatuation and you probably know the rest of the story.

When I started playing the pennywhistle I soon found that there was one thing that drove me nuts about it- the restriction of the notes. I don't like to be confined to one or two keys, or having to skip notes to play a song on an instrument. So, when I started looking for a concertina, there were two questions foremost in my mind:

Is there a concertina that is not restricted? I've been having trouble deciphering the descriptions of the concertinas, so I don't trust my own research.

If there is one, is it a wise choice to buy it? I'm not afraid of complex fingerings or seas of buttons, but if there is a serious downside to the instrument, I'd rather not buy a clunker.

Any input greatly appreciated!

Edited by thefirstcorby

There are two major systems: Anglo Concertina and English. Both are unrestricted if you are looking at an Anglo c/g with 30 buttons. It takes a bit of work but playing in any key is possible. If your intrest is traditional music (European and North American) the keys tend to be what is comfortable on the fiddle. Anglo is right there and in the case of Irish music prefered it seems.

English Concertina is fully cromatic and is used in many traditions and if you check out our recorded links page, it is being used to great effect even in Irish music. If possible, put your hands on both types and one will speak to you :) .