Hohner D40

Ive asked my parents to get me my first concertina for my 20th birthday, but Im still working out the balance between cost and quality. It seems a 20 button Anglo is the best way to go, and Ive noticed that the Hohner D40 is much cheaper than a Stagi. Can anyone tell me why?

if mine was any indication, the difference in price is definitely linked to a difference in quality. My Hohner was unplayable after 5 months of medium-hard use.

I don't regret starting on a 20-button, though.

I picked up a D40 a short while ago to try to teach myself to play. The price was definitely right, as I didn't know at the time how successful I'd be. However, I'm already looking longingly at 30b instruments. My last trip to the House of Musical Traditions had me experimenting with one of Mr. Tedrow's constructions, with a little voice in my head telling me 'someday....'

My advice as an admitted total beginner is to recognize the fact that the D40 /is/ a lower quality instrument, but it remains playable and an acceptable introductory instrument, especially if it's a gift and you don't know how well you'll take to playing it. Five to six months seems a reasonable lifespan for this particular instrument, and by then you'll have a very clear idea of your intentions. In addition, that's five to six months to budget for a higher quality instrument, and instead of having no practice, you've had six months to familiarize yourself with basic concertina concepts, which I think would be key to getting the most out of a better instrument.

Hey!

I asked the same question about a month ago. Check out the forum http://www.concertina.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=972

Everyone I talked to said that I should pretty much avoid the hohner and spend the little extra and get a Stagi.

I searched around and found a guy selling several brand new Stagi B1's on Ebay for around $150 which was cheaper than some places selling the D40!!! He even gave me free shipping!!!