Simple Chords And Substitutions

edvasicek

I have an anglo Rochelle. I am just learning to play (less than a month), and can handle most songs (melody line) in the key of C, G, and F with practice. I am practicing a lot and making good progress. But trying to add chords perplexes me. My interest in music is mostly vintage popular jazz tunes of the 20's and 30's and 40's, hymns, and contemporary Christian.

I understand that many players use a one note approach to add depth.

There seems to be so many chords. I was wondering this: if I play with a group and I want to play chords (probably partial):

(1) Are there chords that are not necessary and can be substituted by other chords? If so, which can be substituted and with what? Or perhaps there is a chart somewhere.

(2) Since most of my notes seem to be played with the left hand, is it ever advisable to pay chords with the right hand?

When I play traditional hymns, I noticed it easy to create harmonies that sound decent. Playing the tune in thirds on the left hand works sometimes, and when playing with the right hand, a good note seems to be playing the C/D and E/F buttons on the left.

But thirds or fifths don't always sound quite right, and this does not seem to work well with popular jazz. Any advice on this subject?

Hello, Ed,

I see we have a bit of overlap in our repertoires! I'm fond of traditional hymn tunes, too (including Scottish Psalm tunes), but my "popular ditties" tend to be earlier than yours - more in the 1890 to 1920 period.

I also find that hymn tunes and older popular songs lend themselves to harmonising on the Anglo. They're the type of music that was around in the Anglo's heyday. Often, you can get by with the I, IV, V7 and vi chords of the key you're playing in, but you sometimes need the I7 or the II7 as well. (In absolute terms, for the key of C major, that would be C, F, G7 and Am chords, with the occasional C7 to lead you to F, or D7 to lead you to G.)