Tuning: How Far Can One Go?

I am trying to patch up an old Chemnitzer. Using a good tuner, I find that it is on average between 340 - 380 cents below current concert pitch.

Is it possible to tune to the reeds up to such an extent?

I'm no expert on Chemnitzers, but my guess is that raising the tuning by that much -- between a minor and major third -- would destroy the reeds' playability. Sounds like the original "core" key was A or Ab. Why not adjust it to the nearest of those relative to A440 and then learn to play it "in C" with non-standard fingering?

Wait a minute! A fragment of memory just prompted me to look up a Chemnitzer layout. If you look at that, you'll see that the central row is not tuned to a C scale, but to an A scale, even though Chemnitzer players would describe it as "in C". So I'll guess that you're comparing yours to a C/G anglo rather than to the layout in the above-linked diagram, and that yours really only needs minor adjustment to be brought to Chemnitzer standard. Yes?

Edited by JimLucas

I am trying to patch up an old Chemnitzer. Using a good tuner, I find that it is on average between 340 - 380 cents below current concert pitch.

Chemnitzers, like Anglos, come in different keys and it sounds to me like the instrument is in a different key to whatever keyboard diagram you're looking at.

Is it possible to tune to the reeds up to such an extent?

No.

Cross-posted with Jim's reply.

Edited by Stephen Chambers

Woops, sorry! that should be 34 - 38 cents.

Ok! That is still quite a lot of tuning up... it all depends on the state of the reeds. A friend with an accordeon in 435hz ( average 20 cents flat) was told by a professional tuner that the reeds would be too thin after bringing up to 440hz.... so we continue to play with this disparity between instruments... some people Dance, some Mince, some Wince! We just laugh and use ear plugs...

Edited by Geoff Wooff

Woops, sorry! that should be 34 - 38 cents.