Traditional Music And 'classical' Theory

keeper

Hi. I have been an anglo player for 30 months and I play english dance and a few Irish tunes. But before that I trained to a competitive level as a pianist, I've been an active conductor, arranger etc. I have a BMus and an MMus and I've been a lecturer in music theory/history at London University. That preamble is not by way of an ego trip, it just sets a backdrop for my question.

In the workshops that I have attended the (excellent) teachers have mostly been strong performers but with a rather mixed knowledge of music theory and of notated performance indicators (such as why a piece in 4/4 has a different harmonic rhythm to one in 2/4, for example). My contention (which is what I want you guys to debate/explode/affirm) is that a formal music training can add enormous insight into how tunes might be shaped and played, at all levels from the individual note to the phrase to the whole piece.

I have screwed-up the courage to start this debate because the other delegates who I have met in workshops seem to be ravenous for guidance on such matters, from how to pick harmonies to how to choose speeds.

So, is the general concensus that such insights are 'nice to have' stuff on the grounds that traditional music does not need that sort of art-music perspective or are there any kindred spirits out there who join me in thinking that it is better to understand structural theories before assuming they are irrelevant?

Peronally, I think that they are highly relevant as they help me to choose performance practice from a position of strength, not least when I reject them (e.g., when harmonising with consecutive 5ths).

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Oooooooooh! A can of worms! Let me plunge my hands right in!