English or Anglo

Hyp

First off. Hey to everyone out there. I found this Board really helpful in getting to know how much I don't know. I'm a student of music (jazzpiano) in Germany and had to do a Radio Show about any music ethnological Topic (I hope this is the right word...) and chose Ireland. When I started to search for Music to play I stumbled over a YouTube Video of Noel Hill playing two Reels. I was really amazed and wanted to do that. I was impressed that a single line melody could be so rhythmic and interesting. On further research I stumbled over some shops with cheap concertinas. So I decided that I would buy one.

What confused me was the different Types. I know now, that an Anglo Concertina has different tones on pull and push and that an english concertina has the same and is fully chromatic. What nobody really states clear (perhaps it isn't even clear) is, if the Anglo Concertina is fully Chromatic. Everybody seems to be playing anglos for ITM and as a beginner it seems reasonable to do what everybody does. But coming from Jazz Music I am quite interestet if the Anglo is capable of playing Single Line jazzimprovisations (on standards or whatever), or to what extend the english concertina is good for ITM. This would also interest me, because I'd perhaps like to go to a summerschool when I have improved. Are the Summerschools anglo only or do they Teachers teach both if needed?

If I decide on one, I will probably buy a Rochelle/Jack modell the moment I can afford that and start playing.

So. The questions in short: Is the 30key Anglo fully Chromatic and is the english concertina suited for ITM?

Greetings from Germany

Hyp

• Replies 200
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

So. The questions in short: Is the 30key Anglo fully Chromatic and is the english concertina suited for ITM?

The 30-key anglo is chromatic over two octaves, but not over its entire range.