chas

Can anyone suggest a good source of advice on playing Irish music on the English? I've been playing for almost 40 years now but only a handful of Irish tunes and never with much decoration. I've preferred to play Irish music on wooden flute for the last 15 years. Although I play a bit of anglo, I'm much more comfortable on English so I've set myself the task of developing a decent Irish style on EC.

Predictably, most of what's available focuses on the anglo, including online tuition. Who should I be listening to? (I'm familiar players like Anderson and Thoumire, of course).

One particular goal is a convincing roll (no rhyme intended!). As a flute player, I know that an A roll, for example, is not best described as a 5 note sequence of ABAGA. A concertina ain't a flute but that 5 note sequence doesn't work for me. I achieve the best rhythm with a simple ABGA. Or maybe it's safer to stick to triplets and rapidly repeated notes?

Any thoughts or useful sources gratefully received.

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

presently, the best signposts IMHO for playing traditional irish music on EC are the numerous air-driven instruments already deeply rooted in the irish tradition which are not "bisonoric" but are rather the same note both "in" and "out" (i.e., "unisonoric.") these include: flute, whistle, and pipes.

you are in a very nice position given your 15 years playing irish music on flute, provided you have thusly gained a firm grasp of the phrasing choices and staccato-versus-legato choices you can make while still remaining within the parameters of an authentic traditional irish sound; and provided you have gained a firm grasp of the kinds of phrasing or staccato-versus-legato options which might be doable, but wouldn't sound like itm. if you have gained a good feel for these principles through gobs of listening and playing, you can transfer much of that "feel" from flute right over to EC.