concertina or button accordion?

I'm a novice fiddler (2 years in...), and am considering learning either the concertina or the button accordion. I'm not planning to become a maestro -- I'm already starting way too late at 66! But is one of these two instruments significantly more easy to learn than the other? Obviously, it is easier to get started with a penny whistle than it is with a fiddle, even though one instrument is not superior to the other. On the other hand, one might say a guitar and banjo are more equivalent in the basic skill level required to start amusing oneself. What's your opinion on the relative ease of learning concertina or button accordion, please? Thanks. P.S. Apologies for cross-posting this on another concertina forum. I'm just looking for some informed opinions.

Well...as a nearly raw rookie in both instruments (6 months button accordion, and 9 weeks Anglo concertina) perhaps my experience will pertain to your own situation. Basically, the Anglo 'tina and the button accordion are "harmonica-like" in that push and pull of the same button produce two adjacent notes. In that regard, they are similar. However, the "scales" available at either hand on the Anglo 'tina, for my purposes, make producing full, rich sounds more intuitive on that instrument than on the accordion. On the other hand, the latter has "fixed" chords and basses, if that is easier for you. Although I thought the button accordion was "it" for me, when I tried the concertina, I realized how much more I liked the whole "gestalt" of it. I now play the concertina everyday for about a half-hour to an hour, while I only play the button accordion when I feel guilty about having spent the money on it, or want to play in its keys (which happen to be A/D.)