Is The Concertina A Difficult Instrument To Learn?

The concertina is quite an rare instrument in my town (Townsville, Queensland, Australia) and I am frequently asked if it is an easy instrument to learn. This is a difficult question to answer, especially since I have been playing an EC for 19 years (yikes, is it that long).

One of the unusual things about playing the concertina, is that you do not watch your fingers while you are playing because of its design. I cannot think of any other musical instrument where the viewing of the hand movement is so restrictive.

Comments?

:)

:unsure:

The concertina is quite an rare instrument in my town (Townsville, Queensland, Australia) and I am frequently asked if it is an easy instrument to learn. This is a difficult question to answer, especially since I have been playing an EC for 19 years (yikes, is it that long).

One of the unusual things about playing the concertina, is that you do not watch your fingers while you are playing because of its design. I cannot think of any other musical instrument where the viewing of the hand movement is so restrictive.

Comments?

:)

:unsure:

Actually I would say that you probably watch your fingers less playing accordion... But then again, really, there is no instrument where you should need to watch what your fingers are doing. Most instruments are not designed to make it easy to see what your fingers are doing, either they are too close to your eyes, at an odd angle, etc. Even if it is easy like say in Piano, you probably are not going to want to watch your fingers since if you want to be able to sight read music, you will have to paying attention to the score, not watching your fingers.