Button Sequence...

Ok. I finally succumbed, deciding that I must not get any older before owning (and hopefully playing) a concertina. So I’ve got a Tedrow C/G Anglo on its way (it should be here by the middle of next week). It’s a couple of years old, but according to Malcolm Clapp who I got it from, it’s as good as new. Anyway, I’ll give an overview of it once it arrives – although as an absolute beginner I don’t know if I can make any really meaningful comments…

But in the meantime I’ve acquired Mick Bramich’s ‘The Irish Concertina’ tutor and am slowly working through the first few pages and tapping my fingers on virtual keys. I’m reasonably proficient on guitar and keyboards, so working through the tutor with no instrument is okay.

However, there is one question that I cannot resolve:

What is the logic behind the button sequence? I understand the principle of the 3 rows, but the sequence of notes within a row has me beat… The C and G rows seems to make sense for at least 3 and a half buttons on each side, but even there if I’m working up the C scale with the left hand starting from middle C using the C-row, I am playing each note in sequence as a push-pull-push-pull etc. until I end up playing A as a pull note with the left hand. The next note B is with the right hand, which to my logic should be a push. But no, it’s a pull also. Why not a push to keep the push-pull sequence going? The G row does the same. Hmmm…

Another Newbie question: what is the logic behind the selection of the notes which the little finger plays – these seem to be out of sequence – and also on the left hand pinky C and G rows, why double up with 2 Gs next to each other and 2 Ds next to each other?

I’m sure this is all perfectly obvious once you actually start playing, but I’d really love to know the logic behind it all!