Victorian Songs

Trilby

I wonder if anyone could help. I am a teacher of 8/9 year old children and we are doing a topic on Victorian Britain. Does anyone have any suggestions of reasonably simple period songs that would be suitable. We have to be quite careful about content of songs... I have changed the words to "Haul Away Joe" as describing your girl as fat and lazy isn't the thing to do ! So her name was Masie !!

I would appreciate any suggestions.

Trilby

I wonder if anyone could help. I am a teacher of 8/9 year old children and we are doing a topic on Victorian Britain. Does anyone have any suggestions of reasonably simple period songs that would be suitable. We have to be quite careful about content of songs... I have changed the words to "Haul Away Joe" as describing your girl as fat and lazy isn't the thing to do ! So her name was Masie !!

Trilby

Hi Trilby,

I've searched through a book entitled "The Illustrated Victorian Songbook", and the two most likely candidates seem to be:

Daisy Bell (Daisy, Daisy)

Two Lovely Black Eyes

Of course, you could teach just the chorus to each, which would be even simpler.

Regards,

Peter.

Try the Cecil Sharpe book of English Folk songs for Schools. There's probably a copy in the back room of your local library or indeed the school may still have a copy. They are all relatively traditional and already cleaned up songs, that he collected from around the country.

If you don't have a source locally, you could contact Cecil Sharpe House in London. If they haven't got a copy they should be shot!

:D

Haul Away, Joe is a Victorian "period" song? I always thought it was a shanty, and that shanties weren't sung much in those days, except on ships. (On a separate note, with dozens of verses to choose from, you could just leave out "fat and lazy". Isn't changing the words to a song to bow to contemporary prejudice contrary to the goal of representing what the period was like?)