Ec Thumb Problems

Steve Griffiths

I have been playing EC for the past 3 years (since I retired) - Lachenal 48 button. All was going well until I developed pains in the thumb joints. I don't know whether the concertina caused the problem, but it is now difficult to play for any length of time.

So, two questions:

1. Would wrist/hand straps on an EC help?

2. Should I take up the Anglo instead? (I've tried a duet but found it unsympathetic)

To answer the first question, wrist straps have definitely helped me. A few years ago after I started playing an hour or two every day I developed pain in my right thumb and wrist straps manage the problem. I still have some very slight pain pretty well all the time with the issue developing into a ganglion cyst but the wrist straps make a huge difference. Otherwise there is a lot of pressure on the tendons when drawing the bellows. I'm still playing an hour or two most days.

As for playing the anglo, well why not? Simply to enjoy another system but not instead of the EC, you've already put three years into it!

http://www.concertinaman.net/

• Like 1

Yes, wrist straps can take the load off your thumbs. I use them all the time with my larger instrument and sometimes on the normal treble 48, if I have to stand and play.

For normal 'sit down' playing of a Treble EC , and using the 'thumbs pushed all the way into the straps' position I can play for hours on end with little discomfort without the need for wrist straps, but like a sporting activity , I suspect playing the EC is easier when the musclular strength and flexibility has beeen built up in one's youth.

It may also has to do with how you are holding your instrument. If you allow your EC to fall forward that puts a lot more strain on your thumbs to maintain balance. Try keeping your elbows in and using your thumb and pinky to balance.

I also often put my hands in very warm water once or twice a day when I am playing a lot.

rss