Self Taught For About 5 Years. Time For A Lesson (In Pennsylvania)&#33

Podzol

Hi good people!

I was wondering if there was anyone in Pennsylvania who might be willing to give a lesson on the English Concertina. I am in central PA, but am willing to travel quite far for an occasional lesson.

After several years of teaching myself, I can muddle through by hitting notes, even the correct ones fairly rapidly when appropriate. I believe that my primary deficit is in the artistry that will turn those notes into music. I like playing a wide variety of music, from traditional Irish and Scottish, to classical. Have been having fun with some tangos, lately too. I think pointers on technique, style, phrasing, accompaniment would all be things from which i could benefit greatly.

Thank you for any suggestions, and if you're willing and able to teach, please send me a p.m!

I play a Baritone Geordie from the Button Box

Edited by Podzol

Hello, Podzol.

While not a "lesson" per se, have you attended the NESI Squeeze-in in Becket, MA? If so, you know what a wonderfully eclectic mix of squeezers and music (with lots of EC) it offers. If not, you should definitely check it out. Lots of great workshops and jams, food and fellowhship. Just aim your browser at NESI Squeeze-in 2014 and you'll find it.

Regards,

David

If you feel it's the artistry lacking, you might just (or in addition to lessons) listen to good musicians and recordings repeatedly, to get a notion of how ornamentation and phrasing is meant to sound...

Somebody called this "learning by osmosis"... :)

Best wishes - Wolf

Edited to remove iPhone typo...

Edited by blue eyed sailor

Rachel Hall has gotten together groups of players in the Philadelphia area in the past; perhaps someone here can bring you up to date on that. She and others often come to the Northeast Squeeze-In; I second that recommendation.