Silent Download Of Unwanted Software

I put this here because I couldn't see a forum for dealing with stuff like this.

I just found an (unwanted) audio file converter on my machine. Switch Converter, or some name like that.

This was silently installed on my machine some time in January.

There was also a separate list of 'shortcuts' to programs marketed by this outfit. I have deleted/uninstalled both.

Just a warning that folks may have software from this outfit on their machines without their knowledge.

Look for 'Switch' and/or 'NCH Software' to uninstall/delete.

Roger

Actually, being a professional SW developer, I'm VERY peculiar with Software. I normally prefer commercial products over Open Source/PD and install SW only after a long and soul-searching process of weighing pros and cons bla bla.

I write this because the Switch converter is one of the few "free" (there is no such thing as free anything) products I chose to install instead of commercial products. It's extremly useful, stable and (at least in the version I installed) non intrusive. For example, Switch is what I always use to convert the wmas that Cubase procudes to mp3 files.

Unelss someone else has taken ownership, I'd be surprised to learn that it installed "itself" or through dark channels. Could it be that some other piece of Software (eg some sound car driver) installed it on the fly?

I've only ever seen programs installed by default alongside other programs; say Acrobat Reader or the Ask toolbar :spit: when installing a browser for example. Can't say I'd ever such a thing installing a driver. I, like you, have learned to always use a Custom install. If you can't identify the method of installation I'd consider my options.

Thank you folks, for the insights contained in the previous posts.

I should probably have said, it's a W7 machine - I haven't had a problem quite like this before.