From Piano To Concertina

I'm new to this forum and to the concertina community and need some advice.

A bit of background: I am a choral conductor and pianist. I'm the music director at a church in Dallas, Texas. I read music fluently and play by ear a bit but not am not gifted this way.

In recent years I've discovered I enjoy a good stout in an Irish pub so have become curious about ITM (Irish Traditional Music) and that lead to doing some research on the concertina.

I understand in broad terms the different key arrangements and the terms unisonoric/bisonoric of the English, Anglo and Duet systems.

Here is my question:

as a pianist and music reader will I make faster progress with which system? What do you think will be more intuitive and therefore I will be able to manage the learning curve in order to make music?

I'm eager to hear your responses.

McDouglas in Dallas

In my experience the answer is that it is very personal. Every one of us is wired differently, and what works for one doesn't fit well for another. In Dallas you shouldn't be far from some of our members who can help you try the different systems yourself (and giving it a few days, rather than 15 minutes, can help also). This is a sound way, uh, to find out what is most promising for you.

Of course my esteemed colleagues will chime in with many other opinions here! I've seen ITM (and most other styles) played very well on every system of concertina. Some folks think EC is easiest for reading music, but I actually read music better on Anglo and somehow like playing EC by ear. And so on. We have every kind of approach and style in the group here somewhere.

Welcome to the madness,

Ken

Hi McDouglas! I also play piano but am not a pianist by any stretch of the imagination! I took up ITM on the Anglo about a year ago, and I think it made a lot of sense, because of my prior experience with piano.