Bit Of Bach

Dirge

This is the well known air from the Goldberg Variations, as heard played by Glen Gould on the piano while he hums over the top, and Hannibal Lecter's choice for background music in his cell.

It was written for harpsichord so the building chords in the bass are not as JSB would have imagined it, and I knew this when I started practicing it. It's the usual warts and all "I can't be bothered to fiddle about with this blasted machine" recording and you'll hear in some places I've been fairly successful at feathering the bass notes; elsewhere the concentration lapses...Listening to it I must watch my bellows work generally.

The polyphony needs a lot of changing fingers and picking up melody notes with fingers that are already holding a long note so it's interesting technically and I think this may be part of the reason why I really like playing it; Sal's comment when asked "Whadjerfinkofthat?" was "That's another pretty piece". I think it works. What do you reckon?

Bach Air.mp3

This is the well known air from the Goldberg Variations, as heard played by Glen Gould on the piano while he hums over the top, and Hannibal Lecter's choice for background music in his cell.

It was written for harpsichord so the building chords in the bass are not as JSB would have imagined it, and I knew this when I started practicing it. It's the usual warts and all "I can't be bothered to fiddle about with this blasted machine" recording and you'll hear in some places I've been fairly successful at feathering the bass notes; elsewhere the concentration lapses...Listening to it I must watch my bellows work generally.

The polyphony needs a lot of changing fingers and picking up melody notes with fingers that are already holding a long note so it's interesting technically and I think this may be part of the reason why I really like playing it; Sal's comment when asked "Whadjerfinkofthat?" was "That's another pretty piece". I think it works. What do you reckon?