Arthritic Hands

Kelteglow

Hi ALL I have osteo arthritus in my hands and I am wondering what to do .I love playing my Anglo concertina's but is it doing me harm or is it good for finger exercise ? The problem started in my Thumb's and is spreading to the knuckle's in the thumb and first fingers. Any Idea's ? Bob

Edited by KelTekgolow

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have arthritis in my shoulders and elbows from a previous injury. When my hands begin to tire or hurt I soak in warm water with sea or epsom salts. I also rub on traumeel or tiger balm and if it is a really bad day I will take a couple of advil for arthritis. However for best results I periodically get acupuncture which reduces the pain and swelling for a time. I swear by it.

rss

Edited by Randy Stein

I'm pushing 60. In my early 40s and as a full-time folk musician I began experiencing pain and joint problems of osteo that both parents had. The doctors couldn't do a whole lot for me but one day in the library I saw a book called the "Arthritis Cure" and took it home and read it. It explained the possible beneficial effects of glucosamine and chondroitin suppliments. The book made sense to me and I tracked down and tried the suppliments (It takes 6-8 weeks to take effect). It helped me a great deal and I've been able to continue to play music and be more optimistic about the future.

Since then it has become much easier to find the suppliments which now grace every pharmacy and grocery vitamin and suppliment shelf.

I believe results vary from individual to individual. The chondroitin glucosamine is usually derived from shellfish so seafood allergies are a consideration. Clinical testing shows some beneficial effects. Might be worth your time to investigate.

Good luck! Arthritis is no fun.

Greg

Edited by Greg Jowaisas