Does the duet have a great future... discuss?

Al Day posted the following on a thread started by Ralphie Jordan with some demos of Maccann duet playing newly prepared by him :"The Duet has a great future. Any recently converted Duet players agree with me. Please start a separate page for discussion."

I thought I'd have a bash at starting this off - but on reading it through most of it is not about the future, more the present. However, the future is inevitably grounded in the present and the past, so I make no apologies. I'm a recent trainee Duet player with big L plates up. I'd considered taking up concertina some 18 years ago, but had only known about two types - the Anglo, which I discounted (reckoned that the push-pull principle would fry my brain) and the English, which I was told would be suitable for accompanying song, and gave the same note on push/pull. Right ... sorted! However, for many and varied reasons I never followed through. A chance meeting with a tall thin musician at the Bismarcks' last gig in Godalming in late 2006.who later suggested expanding my talk with unaccompanied songs on Lucy Broadwood into something with addition of concertina backing (it's now a bit more than that),finally brought me into touch with the instrument which another musician recently jokingly described as being "of the Dark Side" :ph34r: The musical beanpole was Ralph Jordan, and the tina was the Maccann Duet .

Up until then I had never heard of a duet (of any sort) and what it could do. I was given the chance to try one out and it was at that point that I became hooked. The L plates are still up, and are likely to be for quite a time, and I'm sad in a way that I've probably come to it too late in life to become really good at it. I shall, however, be giving it a damned good try and enjoying myself.