New Member And New Concertina Owner

I just thought I'd throw my hat in the ring. I've been playing music for about six years now (violin, tin whistle, bodhran, tenor banjo, mandolin, and tenor guitar), and during the last month, I've gotten an itch to learn the concertina. I dismissed it at first, because I first saw the anglos, and the diatonic nature didn't appeal to me (why spend all that money and NOT have the ability to play anything). AHA, but then I discovered the English concertina, and I was pretty much sold. After several hours of research into brands, fingerings, and pretty much anything I could get my hands on, I ordered a 48-button Stagi last night.

Reading the history of the concertina, I saw that it was used to play classical music, but that kind of died away. Is that still the case? I play all kinds of stuff, but I'm really intrigued with the classical aspect of the concertina. Do you see many classical players these days?

Oh, and what do you call someone who plays a concertina? ConcertinIST?

I dismissed it at first, because I first saw the anglos, and the diatonic nature didn't appeal to me (why spend all that money and NOT have the ability to play anything).

Ooooh! What you said! And that from a man who actually admits to having played (played!) the bodhran and banjo! But never mind, we anglo players are known for our tolerance of the odd and outre, and we can wait until you learn wisdom.

As to your questions. There are a lot of classical players associated with the International Concertina Association. Hie you away to their web site, and don't forget to check out their library of music arranged for English concertina.

Personally I call a person who plays the concertina very, very fortunate.

Welcome to the forum.

Chris

Oh, and what do you call someone who plays a concertina?

Crazy!!!