Kenneth Loveless Morris Tunes On Efdss 78S

This may be of interest to those of a morris persuasion.

Several years ago in Oxfam, Cambridge I picked up a two disk set of 78s of Kenneth Loveless playing some Headington morris tunes on Anglo. It appears to be a private pressing made by EFDSS. What was of more interest to me at the time was that the sleeve was hand made and hand printed / painted, and on further inspection had the words "To Peter from Royston Christmas 1965" in letraset on the reverse. Didn't take much to put two and two together and conclude Peter was Peter Bellamy, Anglo Concertina player and member of The Young Tradition and Royston was Royston Wood of the same band. Peter Bellamy was the reason I started playing Anglo. I contacted Peter's widow who confirmed the record was his and that he had a crate of belongings stolen in a house move several years earlier where he lost a record collection and she allowed me to keep this record. I've attached a snapshot of the sleeve for those who may be interested.

I've posted videos of the four sides as below:

Twenty Ninth of May: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2iAqunrTrqQ&

Rodney: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6r3Vh_Lky5k

Jockey to the Fair: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6iHlOjWvBow

Morris Reel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C_L6kOjp8B4

Hope some people find this interesting.

Regards

Christian

post-11017-0-61315000-1508782896_thumb.jpg

post-11017-0-57017000-1508783190_thumb.jpg

post-11017-0-29064700-1508783194_thumb.jpg

post-11017-0-41834200-1508783197_thumb.jpg

post-11017-0-21039900-1508783201_thumb.jpg

Edited by makeitfolky