Evening all, I thought i'd share my recent emotional roller coaster with my new Lachenal 20 key with brass reeds. it's had some pretty heavy use what with my renewed motivation upgrading from a Scarlatti and to my dismay 2 nights ago I realised the a1 button not sounding! being a novice I had no idea why this might be- broken reed, a broken mechanism- i envisaged an expensive repair job and stewed over the posts describing these instruments as inferior and prone to breaking down. Boo hoo i thought. However, i stumbled across some threads here regarding fluff/debris in the reeds- with great trepidation I opened my anglo and after working out which reed it was I gently flicked it with a stanley blade and gave it a jolly good blow- Success! The note returns, and I can plough on with my Zelda iterations. What relief.

The highs and lows of a new instrument. A great satisfaction in diagnosing and treating this simple problem myself.

Has anyone had similar experiences?

Happens all the time. I was called out to fix a friend's concertina a couple of weeks ago - he was convinced that the reed was broken and that dire things had happened. I took all my gear with me - not so much in the expectation that I could make a new reed at his flat but at least to show that I was taking the problem seriously.

When I opened the instrument up all I could find at issue was that the reed shoe was ever so slightly loose in the slot. When I put the box back together as a trial, the reed was sounding fine. More to prove that I'd done something rather thanjust blown pixie dust over it, I put a sliver of paper round the end of the shoe.

Problem fixed; one happy camper!

Alex West