Classical pieces for the EC

tzirtzi

Hello :)

I've been playing for about 4 or 5 months now, and have so far been playing almost solely folk tunes available both online and in books, and have been feeling generally under-challenged. So recently I've moved on to violin classical music - stuff from the mid-level grade books, at the moment a JS Bach partita and a bourée. But what these all lack is much use of the concertina's polyphonic and chordal potential - folk tunes seem always to be written out as a single line, violin music only includes occasional chords, so I feel I'm progressing little in this important area. I was wondering if anyone knows of any freely available classical music written or arranged for the EC? Such music clearly exists, as I've seen it sold online, and is presumably mostly Victorian and so public domain. I've looked, but haven't been able to find anything online myself.

If no-one does know of anything already online, what would people thing of the idea of starting to collect some online, to be available for free? There are good folk music collections online so there's no need for anything of that sort, but classical sheet music is quite scarce online generally, and especially so for the concertina. Would a free online collection of public domain concertina sheet music be of use to anyone? Would it be stepping on the toes of people selling concertina music? Would anyone be willing to contribute scans/photos/pdfs/ABCs/etc. if such a collection was started?

-Tam