*newbie* Concertina Player Wants Some Help

Dark_Templar

Well now.

Firstly let me say hello to everyone. I am a newbie to the concertina world. Shows how much people know about it, for when I told my friends, only one of them knew (vaguely) what it was.

Both my father and I were going to buy the Stagi 48 button English, but as the JACK Baritone and Jackie Treble concertina were a good deal cheaper, we went for them.

I know these instruments are the cheapest 30 key concertinas you can buy, but they aren't that well made or finished. Also, the JACK is a little vibey and breathy on the lower keys. I'm wondering if the Stagi's are actually worth buying, but I'll get them off of Ebay, as I am not spending £400 odd on them.

The nice people at www.the-music-store.co.uk even gave us £40 off, so it only cost us £370 odd + we bought the Easy Peasy book of music.

We have both known about this instrument for a while. My dad is very much into folk music and sea shanties/chanties himself. We love stuff like Sharpe and Hornblower. I've known about them because when I was a small kid (well smaller really) I had the pleasure of hearing one played by some small band who visited my school.

I know one piece of music that I managed to learn (basic melody) on the piano, which I can now play on my JACK. This is stand by me. Pretty simple.

CC / GBCC / GAA / GAA / AGFF / FAGG / GBCC / GBCC - repeat until you get sick of it.

I would like to know:

1) Where I can get some actual Sea Shanties/Chanties for the concertina. preferably in book form

2) If anyone knows how to play the theme tune for Spongebob Squarepants (Hey, it may be a sad cartoon but the tune is still fairly nautical)

3) If there is anyone in N.W. London (Borehamwood, Burnt Oak, Harrow, Edgware etc) who is interested in forming a small group, as there isn't one around there yet.

4) Does anyone actually know what layout the Stagi's use, or if there is a finger/key chart available