Alternative Chord 'profiles' In Abc...

Roger Hare

I guess this is one for the ABC experts.

As an aid to learning the tunes, I'm transposing some Playford tunes into ABC, and am including chords (these are from

another players 'personal' scores).

In ABC terms, the tunes are M:C| or M:6/4. The default chord profile for M:C| seems to be %%MIDI gchord fzczfzcz.

There doesn't seem to be a default profile for M:6/4 so I have cribbed a profile of %%MIDI gchord fzcfzc from

somewhere (*).

Both of these profiles produce an 'oom-pah' style chord accompaniment when played back through my ABC editor/player

(I am using EasyABC). As I'm only learning the tunes, this is OK, but I'd like to try and vary the accompaniment to make

the playback a bit more 'interesting'. However, despite having studied the relevant part of Guido Gonzato's manual (p.88-ish),

I really can't get my head around these MIDI fbcz sequences which control the sound of the chordal accompaniment.

Can any kind person out there suggest alternative sequences for M:C| or M:6/4 which might make my playbacks sound a

little more interesting? I don't really know if this is even possible, but my own attempts have been abysmal.

Thank you.

Roger

(*) I was quite surprised that what I thought of as common time signatures do not seem to have default chord profiles defined

as an integral part of the abc2midi program.

I've been using abc for nearly 30 years, and never ran across this kind of concern. I have no idea how to answer your question, but if you're using it to learn tunes, playback of the chords should not be important.

BTW, in your 2nd sentence, I believe you mean "transcribing" rather than "transposing" unless in the process, you are changing the key, in which case you are doing both.

I've been using abc for nearly 30 years, and never ran across this kind of concern. I have no idea how to answer your question, but if you're using it to learn tunes, playback of the chords should not be important.