Illiterate Concertina Player

Having a bit of time on my hands, I did a google on "world famous" and "concertina player", and came up with this interesting article.

http://www.ksanti.net/free-reed/essays/psostory.html

The concertina connection was the paragraph "The illiterate self-taught village concertina player can provide just as much joy to his audience at village weddings and dances as can the world-renowned virtuoso at prestigious symphony concerts".

Hmmm - from an accordianist!!

(only posted in the spirit of "stirring the possum") ;) .

Oi, I red wat u sed, and I want u to no mi parints wuz marrid!

Actually, Henry Doktorski is a good chap, who we met a couple of times on our trips to the States. He took us on a long walk in woods once that I still remember for seeing beavers in the wild. He also wrote some very nice things about our CD and a house concert we did that he came to. So, if he has the impression that concertina players are illiterate - it's probably our fault.

Chris

Oi, I red wat u sed, and I want u to no mi parints wuz marrid!

...Henry Doktorski is a good chap, who we met a couple of times on our trips to the States. He took us on a long walk in woods once that I still remember for seeing beavers in the wild. He also wrote some very nice things about our CD and a house concert we did that he came to.

Chris

It was a very nice review indeed Chris.

I used to have the attitude that "readers" were somehow "better" than non-readers. As time passed, I now realise that many of the best musicians (Irish, anyway) don't read. Often, those who rely solely on reading play trad music in a sort of stilted fashion. Suzuki said that music is a language, and like all languages, we learn to speak it before we can read it. Therefore, his method was to have students learn by ear for, I think, the first three books, which were on tape.