Sticking Valve?

The high E on the G-Row of my Marcus G/D stopped functioning yesterday in the middle

of a session (R4^ in my terms). I was able to partially get round this by using the E on the

D-row (dR2^), but my question is - is this a 'sticking valve'?

- I have shaken the instrument (gently and carefully!) and there is nothing rattling around

inside.

- I can hear air passing through the valve when I (gently and slowly!) draw the bellows out

with R4 depressed - there is simply no sound. I do seem to need more pressure to do this

pull on R4, than I do doing the same on dR2, so summat's wrong...

I am prepared to have the end off and have a look, but I'm still a nervous beginner as far

as maintenance like this is concerned, so I'd like to canvass opinion here.

What's my best approach to this? Any advice welcome.

Fortunately, I have a second G/D, so I'm not about to be silenced by this slight mishap (my

fellow musicians might not regard this as fortunate... :) ) .

Thank you.

Roger

Edited by lachenal74693

I think it's likely there's a bit of fluff or something stuck in the reed itself, preventing the tongue vibrating properly. Locate the offending reed, use something like a wooden toothpick to lift the tongue up slightly, then blow on it to clear the dirt away. Failing that, try sliding a piece of paper under the tongue, then lightly push down on it and draw the paper back out.

It has been suggested that a silent high E on the G row may be treated as a feature rather than a problem, rumoured to be especially built into some concertinas, designed to trigger when the instrument senses that crossing onto the D row for higher notes in the G scale is a technique not being sufficiently utilized. :o

It is sometimes known as the "light-bulb note" to those players to whom crossing the rows is a mystery yet to be mastered, especially those lacking dexterity in their R/H little finger.

Food for thought, perhaps, though just a tad tongue in cheek.... ;)