39 Key Jeffries C/g Anglo For Sale

doodle

For sale: Jeffries C/G 39 key Anglo – has ‘cry-baby’ button and ‘whistle’ button, so possibly a 37 key, if you prefer? Bought by me around 20 years ago from a well- respected melodeon tuner, who’s personal instrument it was, and since then has had very little playing by me and always indoors at home.

Overall condition is excellent – it has as new gold embossed 6 fold bellows with the correct ‘dolphin’ pattern papers and matching as new gold embossed hand-straps. It has ‘C Jeffries’ stamped above the C row and ‘maker’ stamped between the C and G rows and although some of the silvering has faded to a goldy colour on the end-plates, they are well polished. All the wood-work is in excellent condition being mainly un-marked – all in all a very nice looking concertina.

It plays superbly, as you’d expect given its previous owner, and is in concert pitch. I’m no expert player, but I think the accidentals at the start of the C and G rows are not typical, being on the left-hand C row - C# push and pull and on the left-hand G row - D push and another C# pull. The right-hand side initial accidental on the C row is – low C# push and low D pull whilst the G row has – A push and E pull. It has a C natural drone under the left thumb, but otherwise the accidentals seem as per ‘normal’ Jeffries layout. It has a ‘Ceilidh Trail School of Celtic Music’ sticker on the carry case, so perhaps these accidentals relate more to Irish music – I’m an English-style player, so don’t really know! There is a black wooden hard-case, as mentioned, and it is fitted with proper bars to maintain parallel bellows when the concertina is stored. It comes from a pet and smoke free home and collection in person is welcomed (I’m in Devon, UK) or it could be seen/tried at Sidmouth Festival. This is a super instrument and needs to be played. Price £4500 + postage, but no offers please as I wouldn’t want to part with it for anything less. Thanks for looking, I’ll try