When To Ornament

Specifically, when should you start adding ornamentation to a tune.

My initial thought would be to get the basic tune down slowly, then at speed, and then ornament slowly, and then at speed.

But since ornamentation (especially playing in octaves or flashes of chording) change the bellows dynamics, should I be working in the ornaments as I learn the tune initially?

Regards,

--Dave

(Edited for grammar)

Edited by Dave Weinstein

,,,, when should you start adding ornamentation to a tune.

Aside from Christmas, you mean? ;)

...should I be working in the ornaments as a learn the tune initially?

Up to you. In the end, what works can be a very personal thing. But hey, pick a few tunes with a relatively large amount of the sorts of ornamentation you describe, and practice some the one way and some the other, then decide what works best for you. (And please let us know.)

Just a suggestion based on learning Irish tunes on other instruments (since I'm new to the concertina):

You really need to learn the basic tune first for 2 reasons:

1) You'll probably play that tune eventually with some other musicians and need to drop some (if not all) ornaments to get your "version" of the tune to fit with someone elses.

and

2) Playing solo you'll want to vary the ornamentation to keep things interesting. So you might play each time through the tune with different ornaments or ornaments in different places.

You'll also want to isolate those ornaments in your practice, because what works in one tune will surely work in another tune somewhere down the road.

You'll also want to isolate those ornaments in your practice, because what works in one tune will surely work in another tune somewhere down the road.

Yep. You might even develop a repertoire of ornaments to throw in if you need to recover from unbalanced bellows movement.

Yep. You might even develop a repertoire of ornaments to throw in if you need to recover from unbalanced bellows movement.