Newbie Looking For Tunes To Learn.

stetix

Hi, I am new to the anglo concertina. I have learned a couple of tunes so far I learned on the internet. Can you please give me your top 5 must know list of tunes in either irish or english traditional? I would be very grateful. I play an edgley 30b c/g. Thanks.

When considering Irish traditional music, be wary of looking only at jigs & reels. Do not overlook the marvellous slow airs.

In that category, I would suggest the Lark in the clear air, and The Coolin.

On the last tune, I can share an amusing anecdote.

I lent a tune book to a friend specifically so that he could get the notation for the Coolin. He told me he could not find it in the alphabetical index.

When I checked, I found it was not listed under 'C' for Coolin as he expected. It was listed under T for 'The'.

Regards

John

Hornpipes are fun, and a few easy ones are session standards:

-Off to California (pairs nicely with Rights of Man, but that's a little tricky)

Boys of Blue Hill/Harvest Home

Rakes of Mallow/Girl I left Behind Me is a good set of easy tunes as well.

Hi, I am new to the anglo concertina. I have learned a couple of tunes so far I learned on the internet. Can you please give me your top 5 must know list of tunes in either irish or english traditional? I would be very grateful. I play an edgley 30b c/g. Thanks.

Five picked 'at random' from my (admittedly still small) repertoire:

Moncks March (as it happens, this one appears in Lester's Tune-A-Day)

German Musicianer (needs use of 'accidental' on non-home row on 20-button instrument)

Bounding Billows (good 'first tune'? Whatever, it's not 'When the Saints', 'Twinkle, Twinkle', or 'Three Blind Mice'...)

The Island Lass (needs use of 'accidental' row on 30-button instrument)

La Carmeline (note the Gallic interloper - loads a good French stuff out there...)

If asked tomorrow, I would pick 5 different tunes - I only learn 'must-have' tunes.

Good luck - I'm a novice too!

Roger