First Video...

RAc

https://youtu.be/JvHv0ISitUc

I've long shied away from going visual for several reasons (major one being that videos require single take recordings which I'm not very good at). Anyways, why not give it a try. This is a lovely piece I found on the internet. I plan on learning it in F, G, A and Bb to be able to play it in various ensembles.

Thanks for watching!

Thanks to you as well, Paul.

This is actually another reason why I prefer audio only recordings: I have two high quality condensor micorophones hanging off an external sound card (Tascam US-600). My audio processing software allows me full control over the inputs. I see the resulting wave form on every channel in real time and can adjust the volume until I have exactly the right level. For a video in which the sound obviously is more important than the visual, I thought it would be a poor choice to replace the high quality mikes with the microphone built into the camera (which the video software understands).

Since the camera software I use does not know anything about the underlying audio hardware and the control panel for the external sound card is not very comfortable, I don't have many options to control the sound as I record. Feeding the camera software from the output of Cubase may be an option but it means I'd have to run two sets of software concurrently, one for the video recording and the other one for the audio.

On the first take, I had the microphone levels turned up apparently too high (the first video attempt came across distorted beyond acceptability). So I turned down the volume on the sound card a wee little bit for the second attempt (there are physical knobs on the Tascam) - but apparently too much. Point is, one doesn't know until the recording is finished.

Should I attempt more video recording, I'll see if I can find a more satisfying solution. Thanks for the input, again!