Morning all,

I am new to the anglo concertina past 6months and working my way through Gary Coover's ession tunes book which is great., I have a scarletti (budget i know) 20 key. I'm finding many of the single note tunes a bit "hollow" and have been adding 'vamp' cords to try and beef things in up/add a bit off life. Is this acceptable, am I going to bastardise the intended sound of the pieces? I'm trying to get my ear in by listening to lost of session tunes on spotify etc.....

If anyone else does this what's your approach?

ON another note in the same vein, what about oom-pah cords? I find these a particular challenge to figure out on the anglo due to the necessary bellows changes, likewise drone notes- non sooner have you found the note it disappears as the main melody moves on with a bellows change by necessity!

I'm thinking these are probably common problems that many beginners come across.

At the back of my mind I feel the tunes may sound less hollow on a better instrument with more notes and perhaps that's why i'm feeling this!

thoughts a welcome

Partial chords are often plenty. The melody provides one note, so choose one other note in the chord for the harmony, that fits with the required bellows direction. One way to choose is to create a nice harmonic line, but it isn't necessary to provide a harmony note for every melody note either. For melody notes where there is a choice of buttons you may want to adjust your choice to more readily allow a harmony note, I find that for a 20 button the suggested fingering in G. Coovers book wouldn't be my first choice. (but therefore it is valuable to me for learning alternate fingerings!) Full chords can be reserved for emphasis at the end of the tune, when the melody is most likely on the tonic note anyway, and the full chord can be easily played.

Oom pah chords. Assuming your 20 button is in C/G: