Work in Progress Duet Style

Dirge

If Wendy and Randy are brave enough to post unfinished pieces then I can too. I've been thinking about bouncing this one off everyone for ages because I'm curious to see what the reaction is.

debussy.mp3

It's a piano arrangement of the orchestral piece by an Australian.

I've tried this on a few people whose opinions I respect and it seems to polarise them. Some just think it's wrong, some really liked it. I started practicing it on the principle that it wouldn't work but it would be a superb exercise to try, and , as far as I'm concerned, it came magically right most unexpectedly.

I really love playing it.

Wodjerfink?

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't know the piece. You don't say what it is called. That said, I liked it and your playing. Very gentle. I think it works. Well done. Makes a change from the roar of a 60 degree OHV JAP! I can also imagine it being played on a clarinet and working well.

Chris

Sorry. It's Prelude De L'apres midi d'un faune by Debussy. It's supposed to be an 'impressionist' picture of a faun (the half man half goat type) happily scurrying about his business in the secret sunlit woods. 'Sunlit' is a big part of it I reckon, and the shimmer of the concertina seems to suit that to me.

I'm glad you liked it, Randy, Chris. Thank you.

(Matchless sv in my case, Chris, but it still makes a racket flat out up the hill to home; and the solo is originally scored for flute, so you're close there too)

I don't know the piece. You don't say what it is called. That said, I liked it and your playing. Very gentle. I think it works. Well done. Makes a change from the roar of a 60 degree OHV JAP! I can also imagine it being played on a clarinet and working well.

Chris