Absolute Beginner Needs Advice!

Hi Guys...

I've just joined Concertina.net as I would like to start learning to play the concertina. After a bit of research, I think the 30 buttoned Anglo would be the model for me but, now comes the problem of actually choosing a suitable instrument from the many on offer! I have, of course, seen a lot of used and absolutely beautiful concertinas for sale while searching on line, concertinas that I would dearly love to own but, unfortunately, they're all rather expensive, and as I have never played before I thought that maybe my best option is to choose a new, cheap model to start with.

I wanted to ask you what you guys think of the Rochelle Anglo 30 buttoned model? After looking at lots of cheap concertinas on-line this model looks and sounds quite nice and appears to be good value for $415… has anyone ever played or owned this model, or have any advice about it?

The other question that I would like to ask is… I live in West Australia where concertinas appear to be almost non-existent, so I will have to order either from the UK or US. I read somewhere that, due to the rough handling while in transit, particles of fluff or dust can dislodge and clog the reeds, which may then need to be removed and cleaned. Is this true, and if so, would a novice like me be able to remove any dislodged particles myself?

post-11342-0-15485600-1409620215_thumb.png

Many thanks, John

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi John,

I don't think that rough handling will cause the type of problems you describe when an instrument is new.... like there should not be any fluff or dust Inside a new Rochelle.

I'm not an anglo player so I cannot directly comment on the Rochelle as such but I do have an Elise, which worked well straight out of the package and continues to play with out fault.