20 Button Lachenal With Two Notes In Non-Standard Position

Reeder

I am a beginner and have just bought my first concertina, a 20-button C / G Anglo Lachenal. The buttons result in the expected notes, all except for one, on the left side, first one the lower row which is G-1 on the push and D on the pull (rather than what I think is more usual B1 and A1). Am I right, is this an unusual set-up?And is it a problem as I learn to play?

Do you mean the inside row or the outside row? The inside row is the first row your fingers reach when you ut your hands through the straps.

The first (lowest) button on the outside ( C ) row on a C/G 20 button should always be C push and would usually be G pull.

On the inside row, there is more variation. Some boxes have the same pattern, but in the different key. Others take advantage of the fact that these notes are readily available on the outside row, so they stick something else in. I have 3 boxes, and the 1st (lowest) button on the inside row is different on each one.

Edited by Mikefule

Thanks for enlightening replies,

I am talking about the inside row, so your post is reassuring.

Doesn’t that make switching to another box more tricky?

Yes and no. :)

This is a CG box, and we are talking about the inside row?

Your first button has a G on the push? That is the root note of the G major chord. It is also available as the second button push on the outside row, so you have a duplication. It means you can transfer fingering for a given tune from the outside row to the inside row. However, you have lost the B push, which is the 3rd of the G major chord. This will slightly limit your options of bass note accompaniment, but you will never go that low with the melody. Whether you have G or B there, you will always have the right chord.