George Case Serial #695?

mazebo

Hi all!
My name is Mats Hillborg, from Sweden, I'm a musician turned software programmer.

Me and my siblings discovered an old concertina in a cupboard after our mother died this spring. It appears it belonged to our grandfather, who bought it in London, sometime at the beginning of the 20th century.

After studying concertina info on this site and around the web, I've come to the conclusion that it's probably an instrument made by George Case.
The name plate is missing and the box it resides in is actually labelled C. Wheatstone & Co, but after finding an almost identical concertina here,
it seems Case would have been the manufacturer.

The author of the webpage argues that according to that instruments' serial number (1713), it's most probably made around 1857.
As you can see from the provided pictures, our concertina has the lower number 695 printed in the reed pan, right where it should be.
Is there any way of knowing the approximate date of manufacture, given this serial number?

Despite its 150 years+ age I would say it's in a terrific condition: The bellows looks almost new (Could they have been replaced?), the mother-of-pearl inlays are all intact, and apart from 4 notes that only sound in one direction of the bellows, it's perfectly playable.
The tone is full and warm - As a guitarist I can't help but thinking what I hear is the sound of beautifully aged wood.

However, there is one important flaw: Two faceplate bolts on the right hand side are broken, and the tips are stuck in their holes. I'm starting another thread in the repairs section to get your advice on this.

BR,

Mats

post-12239-0-38512500-1467729328_thumb.jpgpost-12239-0-59845400-1467729329_thumb.jpgpost-12239-0-21057300-1467729330_thumb.jpgpost-12239-0-88524300-1467729330_thumb.jpgpost-12239-0-58787700-1467729331_thumb.jpgpost-12239-0-18924700-1467729457_thumb.jpgpost-12239-0-51145500-1467729478_thumb.jpg

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply