Londonderry Air

Dirge

After all the fiddling around working how to process it properly here it is. Londonderry air test.mp3. I'm still learning it but you get the idea of where it's headed.

Not my usual fare this. Jeremy the ICA librarian hinted on C net that the library had acquired some new music and I asked him about it; he replied that he'd picked out a taster selection for me as he wasn't sure what I liked. He picked well; it was almost all fun stuff, and this was among it.

Frankly I would run a mile from this one normally; it's a lovely tune, but for me it conjures up awful memories of Bing Crosby, Andy Williams or suchlike crooning about 'Danny Boy' with a thick layer of added treacle. I would never, ever, have thought to ask for the music, but I'm pleased to have it, so thank you Jeremy.

Music available from your local ICA librarian now.

Any Maccan down to middle C on the right hand should be able to play it; the lowest note scored is the C below that which I think means everything from 58 up can cover it.

I've downloaded your files but I cannot open them for some reason... will try again to see if it is just me doing something wrong,

thanks for that anyway Dirge,

best regards,

Geoff.

No barricades for me.... opened ok, but I could not hear the words with the toon??!!

Tempo is spot on Dirgey Boy (most of the lyrics are about lost loves and death.. :rolleyes:

Ye can takk the high road....with Oh Mary

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BAQGHPK3lIc

or the low road with Danny

Did not know there were so many variant lyrics so good for sessions. the Oh Mary (a favourite of James Joyce it is alleged) and Danny Boy words by Weatherly, (he wrote the English lyrics for songs such as Handel's "Art Thou Troubled as sung by Ferrier another good toon for you Dirge?)

Oh Mary dear, a cruel fate has parted us.

I'll hide my grief, e'en though my heart should break.

Farewell my love, may God be always with you.

I love you so, I'd die for your dear sake.