Sessions In A Changing Ireland

Sessions in Today’s Ireland – One Man’s Take

It is a huge subject, the nature of sessions in Ireland. I can only talk about North Clare, and a very rural part of Clare at that. I seldom travel more than twenty miles to go to a session. I am not part of a session scene and I don’t think of myself as a session player per se. I seldom get paid for playing at pubs these days and I no longer seek gigs. I am an average player. Although I mostly play flute now I started on fiddle about forty years ago and concertina since about 1990. I am not an expert on sessions and can only write about North Clare. And what I say isn’t even necessarily the case in North Clare, not to mention holding for sessions in, say, Dublin or Galway or in other parts of rural Ireland. And what’s fun for one person can be misery for somebody else.

You have to make a distinction between public paid sessions, public unpaid sessions, and house sessions. Compared to twenty years ago, a public paid session in Ireland today is not always a friendly get together. A paid session is led by a small core of musicians – two or three – who are paid to play so that patrons will find the ambiance conducive to chat and drink. In Doolin for instance, the session are paid. Musicians are not there for the fun of it and only go because they are paid. If Christy Barry or Terry Bingham didn’t get paid to show up at O’Connor’s or McGann’s they wouldn’t show up. By and large musicians who come to play along with them are tourists or blow-ins.