Help to identify please

This is an old (1946 ) concertina for major overhaul. Does anyone know what make it might be. Bellow ends are marked “Silver reeds “. There is

no makers mark that I can see. 20 button ( with the majority missing ) ...Would this be something worthy of restoration?

Thanks in advance... Dale in Eastern Canada

6E53E24E-349D-4E43-98D6-02B8FD2EB883.jpeg

3E596032-BCA0-4A38-BD83-FB22C903A98A.jpeg

What an unusual instrument.  I love those bevelled corners on the ends.  That is "unnecessary" extra work.  Add that to the 8 fold bellows, and it looks like someone put a lot of effort into making it.  Most 20 button Anglos are much simpler.  Could it have been custom made?

1946 is not old in concertina terms.  The heyday was the late 1800s and early 1900s.

I am no expert, but my gut feeling is that it was once a decent box.  I have seen ones in worse condition that have been restored.  Question is whether it would be worthwhile making new parts, individually measured, for the buttons and levers.  If all the reeds are there, it might be restorable to a good condition.

However, reasonable quality 20 button boxes are readily available around £500, so in cold economic terms, it might not be worth it.  An enthusiastic hobbyist might relish the challenge.

I have seen this ad on a Canadian web-site and while it is interesting I doubt very much that it would be worth much unless someone here rocognises it and says that it has a particular rarity or collectable value.

Do you want something to put in a display cabinet or do you want a playable instrument?

If the former, and you have experience in antique repairs, then go for it - for maybe $50.  As a display piece you would not have to re-build the action,  tune the reeds or repair any bellows leaks - all of which are almost certainly issues to resolve.

If you want a playable instrument then I would avoid it like the plague.